The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex
Reviews Page

The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex has been reviewed 12 times and has an overall rating of 19 points out of a possible 60, or 31.66%  positive feedback.

The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex has Above Average Rating The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex has Above Average Rating
Review Date Reviewer's Name Review
26/04/2010 18:26:54 Mick The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by Mick
We visited last Friday 23/4/2010. The new tenants made us feel most welcome. The bar staff were friendly as was Chef, we also met Mel. The food was good and plentiful and the beer was excellent. The previous reviews on this page talk about the old Queens Head, (that we had experienced on our visits in previous years) and all that went with it.... This pub is now well worth a visit. We do not think you will be disappointed. [Report for Removal] Mick
Harrow
Middlesex
18/10/2009 16:22:44 S Rist The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Below Average Rating by S Rist
Visited as a group of 4 adults & 4 children today - can safely say none of us will be going back. The atmosphere was unwelcoming, the barman (or owner - who knows) was unfriendly and unhelpful. We were not informed about the menu, meal options for children, how to order etc. The food was ok but definitely nothing special - which it should have been considering the extortionate prices. It took a long time to come and was not particularly hot. My son's dinner was not what had been ordered and had to go back yet there was no apology, in fact we were made to feel like an inconvenience. My friend and I were reprimanded by the Barman/owner for smoking OUTSIDE at the front of the pub. Good location and the building itself is nice just a shame about the proprietors! Expensive, bad service, mediocre food. [Report for Removal] S Rist
Hastings
East Sussex
22/09/2009 14:20:56 P Warren The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Very Bad Rating by P Warren
What a disaster this place is! We visited to give it a try despite the other poor reviews and were told that no food is served on a Tuesday (why wait to go in before you are advised of this?) As we left one of a couple of guys at the bar drinking shouted out 'was it something I said'. Now I have a sense of humour but that was demeaning and made me quite annoyed. If the landlord is reading this he should bar those people before he looses his business. I will certainly not go back and would advise anyone else not to even give them the benefit of doubt. Avoid![Report for Removal] P Warren
Etchingham
East Sussex
01/08/2009 13:56:35 mr r allsop The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Below Average Rating by mr r allsop
My wife and I called in this pub for Sunday lunch the other week I thought this pub food was very poor and expensive for what it was not up to what you would have expected from such a lovely looking pub the menu was a very limited Also if you’re looking for man size portions this is NOT the pub for you we will not be going there again [Report for Removal] mr r allsop
maidstone
kent
26/05/2009 18:08:17 mrs lisa grant The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Terrible Rating by mrs lisa grant
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] mrs lisa grant
hastings
east-sussex
20/04/2009 23:43:52 Paul Green The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Very Good Rating by Paul Green
Just changed hands great fined warm welcome new menu well worth trying paul[Report for Removal] Paul Green
Tenterden
kent
19/04/2009 13:59:20 jane The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by jane
I have just visited this very pretty pub,and was very pleasantly suprised to find it is under new management. The new landlady met us with a smile and the atmosphere was very warm and welcoming,we will be letting all our family and friends know how much we enjoyed our visit. [Report for Removal] jane
Hastings
east sussex
11/02/2008 15:32:07 J Robey The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Very Bad Rating by J Robey
We dropped in this pub for the first time, late afternoon on a week day with my husband. It looked so pretty from the outside and I fancied a coffee. We went in to find a group of men, who were obviously regular locals at the bar. They all stared at us when we came in without smiling and immediately made us feel unconfortable. They were having over the top loud (shouting basically) chat that was as foul and disgusting as they could manage. I'm no prude, believe me but they were saying f**k this and F**k that on purpose as loud as they could, then they went on to discuss various sexual encounters in completely gross and obscene detail, this was made worse only by the fact that every one of them was physically repugnant. When a woman they all knew came in briefly, who was teasing them because they weren't at work, they completely changed their tone and tried to behave in a polite way, then they carried on as before when she left. We were forced to listen to all of this while we waited over 20 minutes for our coffee, the bar man finally brought it over, apologising that it took so long, because he forgot all about it, he was laughing but it wasn't meant to be funny for us. The coffee was tepid and horrible and didn't even come with fresh milk. When we left one of these man the said bye-ee in a mocking sarcastic manner as if to suggest we we're the ones being unfriendly. We regularly visit the queens head in Icklesham, I know for a fact, if any customers had behaved like this, on a quiet afternoon, dominating the whole atmosphere, it would not be tolerated. We won't be visiting this pub again and have passed our experience on to all our friends.[Report for Removal] J Robey
Hastings
East Sussex
25/01/2008 15:28:14 Ben Wright The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by Ben Wright
I have recently moved to Sedlescombe and am very pleased thet The Queens Head is my new local!! Grant the landlord is one of the nicest publicans I have ever met, always makes everyong feel welcome and does all he can to give the customers entertainment. Not to mention top quality beer and food. All a pub should be! 5 gold stars The Queens Head!! Keep it up please! [Report for Removal] Ben Wright
Sedlescombe
East Sussex
25/01/2008 15:23:36 Ben Wright The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by Ben Wright
I have recently moved to Sedlescombe and am very pleased thet The Queens Head is my new local!! Grant the landlord is one of the nicest publicans I have ever met, always makes everyong feel welcome and does all he can to give the customers entertainment. Not to mention top quality beer and food. All a pub should be! 5 gold stars The Queens Head!! Keep it up please![Report for Removal] Ben Wright
Sedlescombe
East Sussex
25/10/2007 19:54:34 Sedlescombe Rangers JFC The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by Sedlescombe Rangers JFC
24/10/2007 We would like to say what a lovely local pub again, new landlord and well priced and good selection of food on the menu. A transformation and a pub which has a really good family and friendly atmosphere. [Report for Removal] Sedlescombe Rangers JFC
battle
east sussex
23/02/2006 10:51:02 Jason The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex was given an Excellent Rating by Jason
I stopped coming to this pub several years ago, owing to the fact that the previous landlord and landlady were, let's say, not the best couple to run or manage a public house. However, I heard recently that the Queens Head had been taken over and was under new landlordship... Myself and 2 friends made the journey down the road in joyous expectation. We were not disappointed! From the moment we saw the place we could tell that it had, had something of a facelift!! Fresh lick of paint and a tidy up and the place looked transformed. When we took a step inside, I have to say in all honesty it was a very pleasant surprise. The difference was amazing. the whole place had taken on a whole new persona. Aesthetically warm and inviting... The atmosphere was how it should be in a local pub, welcoming... There was a good selection of beers and ales (which were at the perfect temperature and tasted divine by the way!!!). The 'specials' board for the days lunch was clearly marked 'Maggies Hot Pot', Mmm... A delight indeed! All three of us tried it and again were not disappointed.... Overall an extremely pleasurable experience!!!! Bruce and Maggie are, in my opinion, a godsend to the village of Sedlescombe, and an asset to both the community and the (almost) lost art of Innkeeping... Definitely 5 stars for the Queens Head...[Report for Removal] Jason
Tenterden
Kent

Add a Review for The Queens Head, Sedlescombe, Battle, East Sussex

These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Pubsulike and should not be taken as the views of Pubsulike - publishers of this web site. However if you feel a review should be removed or investigated please let us know by using the [Report for Removal] link.