The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire
Reviews Page

The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire has been reviewed 45 times and has an overall rating of 97 points out of a possible 225, or 43.11%  positive feedback.

The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire has Well Above Average Rating The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire has Well Above Average Rating
Review Date Reviewer's Name Review
09/04/2012 11:57:38 John Coulson The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Bad Rating by John Coulson
If you’re a walker/rambler and fancy a pint with your sandwiches, give this Pub a wide berth. The Landlady was horrible, I asked if we could eat our sandwiches with our drinks outside, it was a cold day at about 1 O’clock and no one was outside (In fact for an Easter Sunday there were remarkably few people inside too) She replied simply..”No”, I said “excuse me” and she then said in a horrible tone “Do you want me to say it any louder..NO” I left without saying a word, but thought to myself, in this day of austerity how can someone turn away business and also create such a bad impression. I am a regular Pub going and enjoy taking my family out for a Pub meal but will certainly not be taking them to the George Inn at Finchdean. Walk the extra mile and enjoy a very friendly Landlord at the Castle Inn at Rowland’s Castle who was only too happy for us to sit outside eating our lunch and drinking his beer. [Report for Removal] John Coulson
Bournemouth
Dorset
20/12/2010 11:05:26 mr&mrs armstrong The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by mr&mrs armstrong
my husband and i made a visit on 19.12.2011, and we could not fault the meal or service ,we will be reccomending this venue to our friends,who like us eat out regulary delicious.[Report for Removal] mr&mrs armstrong
havant
hampshire
14/03/2010 22:24:21 Caroline Kilcoyne The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by Caroline Kilcoyne
We have just returned home from a Mothers day meal at The George and I have to admit it was fantastic. The service was faultless, the food was fantastic and as an added treat to all us mums we were hand a kind gesture of a carnation and gypsiophelia for Mothers day. The staff are very pleasant and the whole atmosphere of the place is relaxing and welcoming, a pleasant change from the previous owners who really let the place go. All we can say to you is good luck for the futue in this beautiful pub.[Report for Removal] Caroline Kilcoyne
Gosport
Hants
03/03/2010 09:03:16 geoff stuart The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by geoff stuart
Having not visited the george since 13th november 09, upon reading a review dated 16th nov 09 we thought its all gone wrong at our favourite evening meal venue???? read as if new landlords, staff and chef!! made a quick phone call to the george inn to confirm a table,just a ploy to check out the staff. upon arrival was greeted by the familiar smile of the landlords daughter. Had a wonderful meal as usual, food piping hot,served with a smile and attentively done,good quality food at a reasonable price. Would recommend to anyone for any occasion [Report for Removal] geoff stuart
waterlooville
hants
02/03/2010 19:19:04 hilary Clarke The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by hilary Clarke
we celebrated my parents 25th wedding anniversary here in August 2009 we were taken back by the fabulous old time history features within the pub. we were greated with nice friendly smiles and he staff were very helpfull and professional,Our food was un-faultable Then.... My partner and i got engaged in Nov and with my lasting impression that i received from the George on my last visit i called them and asked if they are available for private functions, The land lord was more than helpfull, he discussed buffet menus and entertainment that they have used within the pub before. It sounded good. The night of our party was not good it was AMAZING we had an open log fire greeting guests, the food was again as lovely as we last remembered, the entertainment was for everyones required taste. Most of my guests even complimented on the venue,entertainment and food I would highly recommend this pub to everyone i know, it is deinately worth a trip here. Hilary[Report for Removal] hilary Clarke
havant
hampshire
06/12/2009 09:40:11 Mandy The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by Mandy
We went to the George last night, the first time in two years after our last visit was awful. We were greeted by friendly staff, the food is cooked to order and is worth waiting for piping hot and very tasty. The staff could not have looked after us any more than they did, I would recommend the George to friends, nice to have another pub serving good food near to home.[Report for Removal] Mandy
Waterlooville
Hampshire
27/11/2009 14:38:28 Ruth Sambrook The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by Ruth Sambrook
I took my husband and his family to the George for his 60th birthday at the beginning of this month. The Sunday lunch was delicious (and served on nice hot plates!), the desserts superb, and the whole experience was enjoyed by us all, so much so that we are planning on returning this weekend![Report for Removal] Ruth Sambrook
Rowlands Castle
Hants
26/11/2009 20:03:19 Paul Cartwright The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by Paul Cartwright
I am the landlord of this pub and am extremely disappointed by some of the recent posts. I actually presumed that the site existed in order for people to review the pub, not to make malicious attacks upon past and existing staff. Will the owners of this site please remove these posts as soon as possible. I consider these remarks to be libelous. [Report for Removal] Paul Cartwright
Waterlooville
Hats
23/11/2009 18:43:14 Emily Harrison The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Average Rating by Emily Harrison
Hi this is Emily, previous chef of The George, i thought this was suppose to be a review website, but obviously not. As much as i have appreciated the good things that have been said about my cooking, i am disgusted at the way some people obviously have too much time on their handsas to slate members of staff. The George has always, as long as i can remember, had a good reputation as a destination pub and always will. I had to leave this employment due to personal circumstances(of which is no-one elses business), and as for being a drunk?Well, maybe i used to be! As far as i am aware, from friends of mine that still use The George, the food and the beer are still of excellant quality. So if any outsiders are reading this, please dont knock it untill you have tried id.[Report for Removal] Emily Harrison
Cowplain
hants
16/11/2009 13:54:16 casey joans The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Fairly Bad Rating by casey joans
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] casey joans
waterlooville
hampshire
16/11/2009 13:54:16 casey joans The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Fairly Bad Rating by casey joans
we went to this pub about 2 months ago and the food was great it had a lady chef whos cooking was out this world(emilys kitchen was the menus name) we have to say that after going back last week the food was nasty and cold the barman and bar lady (who i have just found out are the new owners) was soured face and not very friendly and never smile i was very upset over my meal and welcome (which i do like to be smiled at when i go to a place) i think that the george has gone down hill fast all i can say is bring back the lady chef and the smiley bar staff) it would also help if the owners took a lesson on bar skills and poeple skills)[Report for Removal] casey joans
waterlooville
hampshire
06/11/2009 14:36:09 Jan Leonard The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by Jan Leonard
My husband and I went to The George for the first time in many years and it was brilliant! We only had a snack lunch but the food was lovely (try the soups!) and the menu offered some unusual choices as well as more traditional ones. Something to please everyone. The bar staff were very friendly and the whole ambience was very welcoming. On a grey, dull day we could have stayed there all afternoon. We will definitely be back for more! Well done.[Report for Removal] Jan Leonard
Horndean
Hampshire
08/08/2009 23:31:24 Carla Rolls The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by Carla Rolls
Hi there, A friend of mine has witnessed the trials and tribulations of this pub over the years and has admitted that it has been... at times... dismal But... I dined there myself recently since the latest change of ownership and am happy to confirm it was a most gratifying experience. Lovely food, lovely atmosphere, a lovely afternoon. Worth a visit.[Report for Removal] Carla Rolls
Rogate
West Sussex
04/08/2009 12:54:18 Debbie Jones The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by Debbie Jones
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] Debbie Jones
Havant
Hants
20/04/2009 13:56:14 Adam Barry The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by Adam Barry
First time i have been out to this pub in years, absolutely loved it, the food was good, staff were friendly and the surroundings are beautiful. Not sure how the guy below came to his conclusions about the chef as he was in the kitchen...cooking, and you might wish to spell check before your next post! Highly recommend the place if you like quaint country pubs with a good atmosphere.[Report for Removal] Adam Barry
Clanfield
Hampshire
04/04/2009 20:35:31 malcolm The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Bad Rating by malcolm
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] malcolm
rowlands casle
hampshire
23/03/2009 09:24:10 Tom Cartwright The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by Tom Cartwright
The pub is now under new management as of march 2009, new bar and kitchen staff, the food is incredible! [Report for Removal] Tom Cartwright
Waterlooville
Hampshire
14/01/2009 09:00:38 james potter The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Bad Rating by james potter
Used to be a lovely,friendly pub,with great food. Recent visits, under a new team, have been dreadful. Food is shocking; from freezer to microwave and was still not properly hot. Staff are surly and dis-interested. They mixed up orders, got the bill wrong and made no apologies. Destined for closure I fear.[Report for Removal] james potter
rowlands castle
hampshire
24/12/2008 14:57:51 Ross.Lillicrap The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Terrible Rating by Ross.Lillicrap
My wife & family have visited this what was a lovely a pub since 1999, until it changed hands some little while ago, last night with our Daughter & Husband over from Florida, we phoned & booked a table, but were told only cash & cheques for payment !!!, we turned up, the place had one person in the bar & one other couple in the restaurant, it was obviously under new management, with a surley barman, however we ordered & sat down, I had ordered Sirloin Steak (med/rare), the others ordering as they pleased, my steak was as tough as the soles of your boots, & the button mushrooms tasted as though they had been fried in rancid oil, on paying & making my comments I was offered no apology, but the worst was to come, I was up three time in the night with excruciating stomach pains & diarrhera, & still not myself at 2pm next day, This used to be a lovely pub with obliging staff & a wonderful kitchen, but afraid under its present managerment it is not going to last long. Ross. Emsworth.[Report for Removal] Ross.Lillicrap
Emsworth
Hants
26/11/2008 15:37:13 Keith The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Well Below Average Rating by Keith
I went to this pub about a month ago and they said their Credit Card Machine wasn't working. I don't like being deceived as they DO NOT TAKE CREDIT CARDS at all. I took some friends there today and it was embarassing so I'll have to take a larger group elsewhere next time.[Report for Removal] Keith
Eastleitgh
Hants.
07/08/2008 19:10:13 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
In my previous review, I omitted to use the above rating system correctly , which has been rectified. Excellent.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 18:52:24 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Excellent Rating by John Nightingale
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hampshire
07/08/2008 17:50:09 John Nightingale The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Average Rating by John Nightingale
Eureka !! Classical Greek opening ploys are now all used up. This afternoon I stumbled on this site by accident, saw some of the earlier horrendous complaints and checked to see if it was the place I have always wanted to tell everyone about. Same place, very different management.In June 2007 I "discovered" The George. If I win the lottery I will buy it . Beautiful. Landlord and locals alike made us feel at home. The service was excellent, the food better. With no disrespect to Pub Food, the variety on offer was suprisingly varied. It is all good. We have been back many times since, introducing most of our family members, friends, and associates, always receiving the same first class standard. Before submitting this, (my first ever published review !) I telephoned the current Manageress and confirmed the Pub had changed hands only days before my first visit. Consistently Excellent is my opinion, and that of all those I have introduced there. In fairness to the incumbent management the outdated detrimental comments shown here should be deleted immediately .[Report for Removal] John Nightingale
Fareham
Hants
05/08/2008 21:44:08 james yoxall The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by james yoxall
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] james yoxall
portsmouth
hampshire
05/08/2008 21:44:08 james yoxall The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by james yoxall
the reviews on this page are out of date new people now own the pub and are very friendly the food is good and its a shame that these bad reviews are not removed when the pub changed hands we love it and will always go back my mother was taken ill while there with friends and needed an ambulance not only did they call one but even went to qa with her and waited untill i git there so she didnt have to be on her own so come on give them a chance to re build [Report for Removal] james yoxall
portsmouth
hampshire
05/08/2008 21:26:09 dawn waldern The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by dawn waldern
i had not been to this pub for a very long time as i had a bad time and meal but i was told that it had all changed so i gave it another go and to my surprise it was lovely we had a good meal food was out this world i had kangeroo and my wife had ostrich cooked just right , staff were friendly and very chatty [Report for Removal] dawn waldern
portsmouth
hampshire
05/08/2008 21:04:59 dawn waldern The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by dawn waldern
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] dawn waldern
waterlooville
hampshire
07/10/2007 20:20:25 George Langton The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Bad Rating by George Langton
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] George Langton
Southsea
hants
17/06/2007 10:29:05 dean debono The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Good Rating by dean debono
Hi we went to the george on 16/06/07,for a meal four of us went, we had a drink first then went to our table, the restaurant is small but has a very large conservatory with seating aswell, it got very busy within 15 miutes of sitting down, which looked a good sign. We ordered are food some from main menu some from specials board, The steak and ale pie was superb and very filling, The chicken stuffed with brie and wrapped in bacon was also very nice, the sirloin steak was cooked perfect and so was the lamb shank, all came with new potatoes and three veg, i swapped mine for chips and salad, so i would recommend this pub and will be going back.[Report for Removal] dean debono
havant
hampshire
22/01/2007 20:47:14 Steve The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Terrible Rating by Steve
Bad service, mediocre food and a landlady who's attitude was ice cold and accusing. After raising issue with this lady i was curtly banned from the pub. Will not be going there again!!! [Report for Removal] Steve
Petersfield
hampshire
10/12/2006 18:28:52 Nigel Close The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Very Bad Rating by Nigel Close
Indifferent food with tired veg served with little grace - more than an hour after we placed our order! Don't bother with this one; it's everything a pub meal should not be.[Report for Removal] Nigel Close
Winchester
Hampshire
22/05/2006 13:44:06 Richard and Fliss The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Terrible Rating by Richard and Fliss
This has got to be one of the worst meals my partner and I have ever encountered. We were seated in a newly built conservatory that, in our opinion, was an un-sympathetic addition to a really lovely classic countryside public house / restaurant. Because it was not one of the nicest days of the year (raining and cold) you would have hoped that the heating would have been turned up just a little. No you had to shiver together with the other patrons. In fact thinking about it a number of them were wearing coats, now I know why! Because the staff forgot about us the minute we walked in the doors we had to remind them, after 30 minutes, that they had not given us a menu. This was the best bit of the entire meal as the member of staff who brought us the menu was very polite and helpful. She’s the slim lady with a tattoo on the base of her back so please feel free to thank her. Now onto the food. The starter was edible but did nothing to tantalise your taste buds. We then tucked into our roast lamb dinner. The lamb was 70% fat and 30% meat, the roast potatoes and vegetables were cooked from frozen and it was very obvious that the vegetables had been re-heated in stale cooking water. The main course was not even supplied with Salt / Pepper…….more importantly mint sauce. When we requested mint sauce you would have thought we had asked the waitress to climb Everest. Not only did she display the body movement of a sloth she was also very badly dressed. I’m not a person to complain unnecessarily but on this occasion I felt compelled to tell the owner what we thought of our meal. A good opportunity to do this would be during payment as I assumed at this point we would be asked if we had enjoyed our meal (this normally happens does it not!). I took a deep breath, handed over my visa card and was ready to provide, what I considered, some constructive criticism. It’s very lucky I have big lungs as at no time were we asked if we had enjoyed our meal. They just took my card, and in a hostile tone of voice said “enter your pin number”, gave us a receipt and then walked off. Maybe I’m naïve but I really though it was good manners / good business practice to take and interest in your customers welfare. All this as a bargain price of £15:90 per person. What a shame when you have to take the time to write such a dreadful report about a beautiful looking public house, situated in a wonderful part of the English countryside, all because it failed to deliver. Come on owner(s) sort your act out and start watching Gordon Ramsey’s kitchens from hell. You are solely accountable for the demise of your business. All businesses need growth and this can so easily be achieved by ‘word of mouth’. If you’d given us good service together with fairly priced food then we would have recommended your business to our friends and family. As it stands I can only advise them to keep well clear. Stop sitting at the bar chatting all day, get off your ass and manage your people. [Report for Removal] Richard and Fliss
Portsmouth
Hampshire
14/05/2006 23:00:40 frenchiefame The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire was given an Terrible Rating by frenchiefame
THE GEORGE AT FINCHDEAN WAS DREADFUL! The most awful thing was the smug landlord. Food was disgraceful, and when we complained, we were verbally abused by the landlord who threatened to call the police! All for complaining about our meal which was inedible! Our family are not the sort to often complain, and were distressed at his hostile attitude. We thought it was every consumer's right to complain - obviously not in the eyes of the landlord! Don't go there if you want nice food, nice people and good customer service![Report for Removal] frenchiefame
Petersfield
Hampshire

Add a Review for The George Inn, Finchdean, Waterlooville, Hampshire

These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Pubsulike and should not be taken as the views of Pubsulike - publishers of this web site. However if you feel a review should be removed or investigated please let us know by using the [Report for Removal] link.

Featured Pub
The George, Mere, Warminster, Wiltshire

 -  This weeks featured Pub

Email a Photo of your Pub, Bar or Inn to Pubsulike. We will display it in our Pub Guide Free!