The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire
Reviews Page

The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire has been reviewed 9 times and has an overall rating of 14 points out of a possible 45, or 31.11%  positive feedback.

The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire has Above Average Rating The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire has Above Average Rating
Review Date Reviewer's Name Review
14/12/2011 10:59:24 A J The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Very Bad Rating by A J
Nothing wrong with the building itself - a good location, inviting (from the outside) and it's clean. The beers are ok, too. BUT... that's not the only reason you go to a pub. There should be more - and there isn't. The temperature might be warm inside, but the atmosphere certainly isn't. The problem? The landlady is one of the rudest and obnoxious people I've encountered and she really shouldn't have a customer-facing role. If you run a pub, you're supposed to at least tolerate customers and make them feel welcome. It's difficult to remain objective but suffice to say the ratings (of 18 out of 175) speak volumes. 10% satisfaction isn't good enough! The food is 'ok' but everything is spoilt by the clinical 'business contract' feeling. Complain, or even question, about any aspect of the meal - and you'll wish you hadn't. It's that simple. All in all, a great waste of an old village pub with lots of history. Go elsewhere![Report for Removal] A J
Northampton
Northamptonshire
07/04/2011 08:33:33 W GRAHAM The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Excellent Rating by W GRAHAM
Review hidden, pending approval.[Report for Removal] W GRAHAM
NORTHAMPTON
NORTHANTS
17/02/2011 09:51:07 Holly The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Terrible Rating by Holly
After having read about this pubs outstanding food, i was dissapointed to have ordered a fillet steak rare, and to receive it medium. When i mentioned this to the restaurant manager she returned to the kitchen only to return to me telling me rather abruptly, both her chefs say its rare, and it appears more medium as its a older aged steak. Surely that should be informed to the customer prior to ordering?? Poorly handled complaint, rude service and dissapointing food. Do not reccomend, and shall not return! [Report for Removal] Holly
northampton
northamptonshire
24/10/2010 17:41:56 BeckiC The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Terrible Rating by BeckiC
Stear clear of this awful excuse for a pub, the landlord is ok (unless you accidently park in his car park to pick your children up from local school as there is no parking available outside). The ladylady is rude, obnoxious with no idea on customer service and adheares to a stupid dress code which forbids patrons to enter in work clothes even if these are clean but dusty. The atmosphere at night is on par with a funeral parlour. If you want a decent pub with a better atmosphere try the Sun Inn just across the road and around the corner. Dont waste your time with this dreary pit.[Report for Removal] BeckiC
Northampton
United Kingdom
27/05/2009 19:09:10 Carol Kerby The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Very Good Rating by Carol Kerby
Never mind the fact that I've lived in Northampton since 1974, I've never been here before! Both my husband and myself like old country type pubs and went here on the off chance and couldnt believe it! Here was just the sort of place we were looking for. Havent been for a meal yet but just going in there you feel you've been transported back to a bygone age. We are what you would call "local" as we are only at Upton. We've signed onto to the website to get regular updates as to whats on and are looking foward to a few summer evenings in the pub garden. A blazing fire was going a few months ago when we went in. That will be great in the winter and near to Christmas. Landlord treated us like old friends so we will certainly be making a return visit. We are busy shift workers so on our days off this seems like a welcome retreat!! Stay as you are Olde Red Lion, you are a welcome sight in our effort to get away from our busy 21st century lives![Report for Removal] Carol Kerby
Northampton
Northamptonshire
05/05/2009 17:56:28 Monique The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Excellent Rating by Monique
Looking more for a place to stay for few days than a place to eat - as the pub offers 2 stylished B&Bs - my husband and I have been surprised and delighted to have right here the best table of Kislingbury. The warmth and charming decor of the restaurant get you in the right atmosphere to enjoy your meal. The choice, the quality and the presentation of food is excellent and more than enough to satisfy your appetite. The pub is situated in the middle of Kislingbury village, High Street and has a parking in the back, not to mistaken with Cromwell Pub at the entrance of the village. We enjoyed our stay to the Old Red Lion and we thank very much Paul & Christine for their truly and simple "joie de vivre" as they treated us like friends more than customers. We highly recommend the Old Red Lion if Kislingbury happens to be on your road plan. Exit 16 from M1.[Report for Removal] Monique
Los Angeles
California
13/04/2009 21:26:31 tony bolger The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Excellent Rating by tony  bolger
superb meal with excellent presentation.satisfaction guaranteed.the kitchen hosts an excellent chef who is very worthy of his title. after one visit you will certainly trail there again if a special occasion demands it. it is expensive, but if you require class then this is the place to visit.[Report for Removal] tony bolger
northampton
northamptonshire
29/07/2007 11:25:01 G S The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Excellent Rating by G S
Good beer, good food and plenty of bon hommie all in abundance at this revamped village pub/restaurant. The new owners have totally turned this hostelry around, together with the resident chef they deserve all the success due to them. I have had several excellent meals here recently and also visited the establishment on special "themed" evenings including the recent beer festival. Keep it going.[Report for Removal] G S
Northampton
Northants
19/07/2007 17:00:36 Tracy Lamb The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire was given an Very Good Rating by Tracy Lamb
The Old Red Lion was renovated last year by new owners. They brought in a chef and the place has done a 360. Clean, friendly atmosphere, good food in the bar or more formal in restaurant. It's now also a B&B (two rooms) upstairs for guests.[Report for Removal] Tracy Lamb
Bugbrooke
Northants

Add a Review for The Olde Red Lion, Kislingbury, Northampton, Northamptonshire

These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Pubsulike and should not be taken as the views of Pubsulike - publishers of this web site. However if you feel a review should be removed or investigated please let us know by using the [Report for Removal] link.

Featured Pub
The George, Mere, Warminster, Wiltshire

 -  This weeks featured Pub

Email a Photo of your Pub, Bar or Inn to Pubsulike. We will display it in our Pub Guide Free!